Digging through old boxes you find stuff you’ve totally forgotten about – and every once in a while, you find old nuggets well worth rediscovering again. Being an active band for a long time, you end up with bits and pieces of music that doesn’t fit within the album format you usually work with.

For obvious reasons The Quill ended up with a lot of free time during this last year, and there was suddenly a window to review what leftover tracks they had in storage. The band decided to put together the best stuff they could find and make a special release which will make for some interesting listening while waiting for the next studio album.

The Quill recorded tons of stuff during the Earthrise sessions – some still left to be finished, but the musicians thought it would be cool to share some of the tracks here. This version of "Keep On Moving" is almost 1:30 longer than the album version and contains a lengthy midsection which they all were really fond of but in the end decided had to go. The other two tracks, "Children Of The Sun" and "Burning Tree", were left off the album mainly due to time constraints.

Next on, there’s a bunch of cover tunes – they all hail from the same time period – the late ‘90s – when tribute albums were a big thing for a short while. All those albums are now long out of print, so the four guys thought it would be a nice idea to include them here to have them all at the same place. What’s also interesting is that they match up great with the material written and recorded much more recently.

Last off is a couple of live-tracks from The Quill's show at Sweden Rock Festival 2019 – the recording turned out really well, except for the fact that there was a lot of musical interference from other stages, which made it difficult to release the whole show – but two of the tracks turned out fine and are included here as a reminder of a fantastic show.

Live, New, Borrowed, Blue will be released via Metalville on January 28th, 2022.


The tracklist is as follows:
"Keep on Moving" (extended version)
"S.O.S. (Too Bad)"
"Children of the Sun"
"Where Eagles Dare"
"Keep it Together" (live)
"Mount Everest"
"Burning Tree"
"Frozen Over"
"Hole In My Head! (live)

Copyright 2022. All Right Reserved.