Reviews

April 08, 2008

\r\nThis album confused me a bit. In general, even though there are some parts that I liked, on the other hand, quite often the whole thing was tiring as it seems that something doesn’t’ fit that much. Music wise, the band combines death metal with grind, but the main feature is that the words/lyrics are in Spanish, an element that gives a pretty strange result, concerning its combination with that musical style. The production is very good, yet the guitar parts should sound a bit louder in my opinion.

April 08, 2008

\r\nHere we have a one man’ s Band, which is named Mooncult and it is constituted by LycaonDemo is the first effort of Lycaon to be heard also into the chaos that is named Black Metal and more specific, searches to find his route in Greek Black Metal scene, with a Demo that personally I believe that it needs big improvement both in the field of production and compositions. It is 5 tracks (the one is intro), which appear that desperately they search to find their identity and to be heard unique and particular.

April 08, 2008

\r\nThe Eternal Suffering is not one from the newest bands in the Greek scene. They were created in 2001 and after one year they released their first Demo, Born Of Chaos. It followed their debut album which is named In Darkness We Shall Reign and for the history we say that the mixing of the album was done in the very known Morrisound Studios in Florida from the known and recognisable Jim Morris.

April 07, 2008

Smash Corps from the US and in specific from Illinois and through their album “Premeditated” their origin becomes obvious. “Premeditated” is an album that features eight compositions between groovy parts like White Zombie and straighter up-tempo parts close to early Testament albums. The vocals also are close to Testament’s Chuck Billy, the period he sounded like James Hetfield. Of course bands like Sacred Reich couldn’t be out of Smash Corps Influences, so here we have a multidimensional album but “the American way”

April 07, 2008

\r\nSwedish Faithful Darkness with a former member of Soilwork in their ranks plays what else other than Melodic Swedish Death or Gothenburg Metal. The good news is that you can hear lots of good Soilwork, Dark Tranquility moments and the bad that there also some bad Soilwork and In Flames moments. This album is nothing more than aggression-meets-melody stuff that the Gothenburg scene is so renowned for.

April 07, 2008

This is the new promo / demo of the one of the finest Finnish bands Searing Meadow.The band has released back in 2005 their first album entitled “Corroding From Inside” and really the feedback was really good for them. Now they have returned with their new effort the "Promo 2007” release that features only two songs, but the listener can get the whole picture of the band’s music and probably their new full-length album, that I hope that will be released soon.

April 06, 2008

\r\nScourger is from Finland and despite the fact that they have their second release out they also have some nerve. I ve been looking at the promo sheet that was included in the promo cd, and I found the review of a great Finnish rock star and keyboard player that plays poser/death/metal. He is Mr. Jane Warreman of Children OF Bodom that considers this release the second best thrash metal release after slayer’s “Reign In Blood”.

April 06, 2008

One of the best acts we have been attended in MMD 2008 Festival was t England’s De Profundis. Despite the fact that their musical genre is not the best genre for being performed live they guys did it very well.

April 06, 2008

After four years of silence, Dokken has returned this year with a new album. The album entitled “Lightning Strikes Again” and the title fits perfectly to this occasion because of the previous not so good, even bad releases of the band that now have returned with a very good album.

April 04, 2008

\r\nI believe that Xasthur is one of those bands that either you will love them blindly or you will hate them for life! Well, I suppose I am somewhere in between and the reason is that their Burzum-esque atmosphere gives many points to my sympathy for them but their less competent and ultra-atmospheric approach plus the fact that I was always thought that they were extremely overrated never really got me into crossing that line of neutralism to the area of their devoted fanbase.

Copyright 2020. All Right Reserved.